The Reverend John W. Holland Humanitarian Award is presented annually to an individual or organization that demonstrates extraordinary commitment and dedication to serving the most vulnerable population in Howard County. The award is named in honor of the late Reverend Holland, whose life of tireless service was an example and inspiration for all.

Reverend John W. Holland Humanitarian Award Recipients
Community Action Council Service Award Recipients

1992     Reverend John W. Holland

1994     Sr. Silas Craft, Sr.

1995     Dr. Morris Woodson

1996     Mr. James W. Rouse

1997     Mrs. May Ruth Seidel

1998     Dr. Benjamin Carson, Sr.

1999     Mrs. Jean W. Toomer

2000    Mrs. Leola Dorsey

2001     Mrs. Celonia Walden

2003    Dr. C Vernon Gray

2004    Senator Robert H. Kittleman

2006     Mr. Victor A. Broccolino

2007     Ms. Barbara Lawson

2008    Delegate Elizabeth Bobo

2009    Mr Willis McGahee

2011      D. David Weeks

2012     Dr.Sydney Cousin

2013     Food for Tomorrow

2014     Leadership Howard County

2015     50th Anniversary Celebration

2016     Howard 7 Rotary Clubs

2017     Senator Guy J. Guzzone and County Executive Allan H. Kittleman

2018     Mrs. Vivian Bailey

2019     Roy and Susan Appletree

2021     Kathleen Koch

2022    Dr. Maura Rossman

2006     One Month’s Rent Initiative and Sunrise Rotary Club of Ellicott City

2007     Howard County Muslim Council and Baltimore Ravens

2008     Atholton High School and Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. Tau Pi Chapter

2009     St John Baptist Church and Phoenix Sentinels of Howard County

2011       Howard County Arts Council

2012     Ascend One Corporation

2013      Apple Ford Lincoln and Wegmans

2014      Leadership Howard County Class of 2014

2021     Neighbor Ride

2022     Howard County Police Department

2022     Howard County Fire & Rescue Services